Front page > Introduction to the Dogo Onsen Honkan bathhouse
Dōgo Onsen Honkan, Annex Asuka-no-Yu, Sora-no-Sanpomichi,No.4 Hot Spring Supply Facility, Dōgo Onsen Honkan Projection Mapping , Himitsu-janai-kichi and Hōjōen will be temporarily closed from April 9 to May 31 to prevent the spread of the new coronavirus（COVID-19）infection.
Tsubaki-no-Yu is available, but please refrain from any non-essential and non-urgent outings.
We will inform you about the schedule after that as soon as it is decided.
Dogo Onsen Honkan began its conservation and repair works on Jan. 15, 2019.
As of February 2019, the entrance was moved to the north side and the building is only open for bathing.
Even since the scaffolding is up, the karaha-fu architectural roof style and signage are kept visible.
Information regarding construction will regularly be updated here. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Dogo Onsen Office at 089-921-5141.
The entrance to the Dogo Onsen Honkan used to be on the west side but was moved to the north side due to conservation and repair work.
At the time of its renovation in 1894, the north entrance was used, and the legendary white egret was set atop the drum house called Shinrokaku, facing the north to greet customers.
The Dogo Onsen Honkan is a picturesque symbol of Japan’s oldest hot spring. In 1994 it was the first public bathhouse in Japan designated as a National Important Cultural Property, and in 2009 it was awarded the top rating of 3 stars by the Michelin Green Guide Japan.
The present-day Kami-no-Yu Honkan is a 3-story wooden structure renovated in 1894 by Yukiya Isaniwa, the first mayor of Dogo Yunomachi. The building was designed by Matahachiro Sakamoto, a craftsman from a family of master carpenters who worked on Matsuyama Castle. Featuring a truss structure that incorporates Western techniques, this grand 3-tiered building is crowned by a square cupola called the Shinrokaku that features giyaman glass windows and a roof adorned by a sculpture of the egret from the Dogo Onsen legend. The Dogo Onsen Honkan has two bathing areas, the Tama-no-Yu and Kami-no-Yu, and guests can select from four bathing packages: the Tama-no-Yu 3rd floor private room, Tama-no-Yu 2nd floor resting lounge, Kami-no-Yu 2nd floor resting lounge, and Kami-no-Yu downstairs.
This package includes only the Kami-no-Yu with no lounge. After purchasing your ticket, proceed to the immediately adjacent separate men’s and women’s changing rooms on the 1st floor. The Dogo Onsen Honkan is extremely popular with local residents, with some coming to bathe almost every day. This package is recommended for guests who only wish to enjoy bathing in an atmosphere like that of a neighborhood public bathhouse.
The stone bathing rooms adorned with Tobe porcelain panel paintings and the baths with their large column-shaped water spouts (called a “yugama”) are representative of the Dogo Onsen Honkan’s unique appeal. With two men’s bathing rooms and one women’s bathing room, at the center of the women’s bath stand statues of okuninushi-no-mikoto and Sukunahikona-no-mikoto, two divinities that appear in the legend of Dogo Onsen.
(age 12 or older)
(age 2 to 11)
|Business hours||Usage time|
|Kami-no-Yu||Downstairs||420yen||160yen||6:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.
(last admission 10:30 p.m.)
|Up to 1 hr.|
* A portion of the fees paid by visitors is used for conservation and repair of Dogo Onsen Honkan, a National Important Cultural Property.
Honkan original face towel with mandarine orange soap: 250 yen (tax included)
Mandarine orange soap: 50 yen (tax included)
Shampoo & hair conditioner: 50 yen each(tax included)